Itching to learn the ultimate PPC advertising blueprint to take your roofing business to the next level in 2022 and beyond?
Be quick! Free spots are almost gone for this month.
5 Stars out of 23 Reviews
We know the ins and outs of your roofing industry. And we’ve been successfully managing PPC for roofers for over 5 years. It’s a lethal combination.
We’re going to reveal everything you need to know to get more clicks and generate more leads from your PPC advertising campaigns.
Get an extreme advantage over competitors with Google Ads, Microsoft Bing Ads and Social Media Ads.
Spend less money and convert more visitors into quality roofing leads.
Don’t have time to read the entire PPC strategy?
If you want your roofing business to thrive well into the future, your Pay Per Click advertising strategy should be one of your top priorities. More potential customers than ever will head over to the well-known search engines by the name of Google and Microsoft Bing (ever heard of them?) and search for roofing contractors in your area before they make the decision to pick up the phone and call for help.
That’s why it’s more important than ever that your website is listed at the top of search engine results when homeowners are doing their research on local roofing companies using their smartphones or computers. This page will cover everything we do when we layout an entire PPC campaign for a roofing client.
PPC stands for pay-per-click, a model of internet marketing in which roofers pay a fee each time one of their ads is clicked. Essentially, it’s a way of buying visits to their website, rather than attempting to “earn” those visits organically.
If PPC advertising is like a hose, SEO is like the rain. Yes, SEO is “free,” but it’s unpredictable. You can’t control it, and you can’t rely on it. Because you might just find yourself in the middle of a drought at the worst possible time.
We’re not saying you shouldn’t try to get organic traffic by SEO. Heck, we love organic traffic!
But for anyone who’s serious about growing a roofing business online, you need more than organic SEO traffic. You need to master Pay Per Click advertising. Such as…
Google Ads PPC CampaignsMicrosoft Bing PPC CampaignsFacebook/Instagram PPC Campaigns
These advertising initiatives can produce quick, fast, and effective results if done right. They are a way to make your business appear right at the top of search results and within the social media feeds of your target audience at the click of a button as well as build a long-term faucet of leads that you can turn on and off at will.
Let’s dive into how they can work for you.
Be quick! Free spots are almost gone for this month
We’re here to tell you that if you set up PPC advertising campaigns the right way, they can be extremely profitable with an incredible return on investment.
We’ve talked with many roofing contractors throughout the United States. A lot of them have a very negative perception of Google Ads, formerly known as Google AdWords and other PPC advertising platforms.
Scenario 1 is that they’ve already spent thousands of dollars with Google Ads and got very little or no return on investment – essentially just throwing money down the drain.
Scenario 2 is that they see how much it costs per click for roofing advertising, sometimes between $25-50 per click, and can’t fathom spending that much for advertising.
Most PPC campaigns fail because roofing business owners failto understand how the PPC advertising platform actually worksto convert visitors into leads.
We see so many roofing contractors that go into Google Ads, pick a few keywords and stuff them all into one ad group, bid either too high or too low, and then send people directly to their homepage on their website. This is the wrong way to make an advertising campaign profitable without any functional knowledge of any ad network.
Google wants to make sure that even paid listings are relevant to their search engine users. So the quality of your ads and the web page that people land on is all relevant to where you get placed in paid listings, along with the cost per click you’re willing to spend. If a customer is searching for “emergency roof leak repair,” your ad isn’t going to work well if it:
You need an SEO partner who does what they say they’re going to, works autonomously after they understand your high-value roofing customers, and is extremely transparent about the effort that is expended on your behalf every month, towards getting more organic traffic and leads. We can also help with paid ad management if needed!
The best way to get the most out of your PPC advertising budget is to first plan out all of the services you want to advertise for. You’ll then do some keyword research and group each set of service keywords together in their own specific ad group.
By doing this, your quality score that Google calculates for ad rank will go up and you’ll get not only lower costs per click, but higher conversion rates and more leads!
So what’s the real benefit of Pay Per Click advertising like Google Ads and Microsoft Bing Ads? There are several huge benefits to using them:
There are a lot of PPC platforms out there. However the two main ones are Google Ads (AdWords) and Microsoft Bing Ads. These are the two we focus on and use in every roofing contractor marketing campaign that we do.
With Google Ads, when you run campaigns your ads will be served on Google’s search network as well as some of their partners if you choose.
With Bing Ads, your ads will be served on the Bing search engine as well as Yahoo, MSN, AOL, Duckduckgo and several other partners.
So where should you invest your budget in pay per click advertising? Well, we recommend investing it in both Google and Bing’s platforms.
Google owns more than 80% of the search market share, but Microsoft Bing is a hidden gem that not as many roofers advertise on and can serve very good results.
That said, our strategy is to invest 85-90% of our roofing client budgets for PPC in Google Ads and the other 10-15% into Microsoft Bing Ads.
This gives us a good chance to see how each platform responds as well as brings different demographics to the table. The cost of advertising on Bing is going to be much less than Google as well.
Let’s talk about how the Google Ads auction process works. There’s a lot of incorrect and misunderstood information out there. A lot of people think that the Google Ads auction process is solely based on the cost per click.
They’ll tell themselves, well if I just bid higher, I’ll be in the #1 spot and then I’ll get more clicks and leads.
However, we need to go back to Google and the fact that they want to serve relevant results to their users. Because of this, they can’t just let the highest bidder get the top position. That’s why they use what they call the “Quality Score” to determine results of paid ads on their platform.
Google makes more revenue if their advertisers get clicks, and in order for that to be more effective, they need to serve extremely relevant ads to their users.
So what is Quality Score and why does it matter?
Quality Score is Google’s rating of the quality and relevance of both your keywords, ads and landing page. It is used to determine your cost per click (CPC) and multiplied by your maximum bid to determine your ad rank in the ad auction process. Your Quality Score depends on multiple factors, including:
No one outside of Google really knows how much each factor is weighted in their Quality Score algorithm, but it is widely known that Click Through Rate (CTR) is one of the most important parts of it.
When people see your ad and click on it, it indicates that your ad was relevant and super helpful to users, which is exactly what Google wants.
Google will typically reward you because of this with…
That’s why it’s so important that your ads are relevant and really draw the users attention!
How can you really get this right? How can you maximize the effectiveness of your Pay Per Click advertising strategy?
The first thing we recommend is setting up ad groups based on specific services and we’re going to break those down for you as we go. We want you to write a specific and compelling text ad that matches the keywords or those groups of keywords. Then we want you to land the traffic that comes through Pay Per Click for each ad group on a specific web page of the website – not the home page, but a very specific page that matches what they typed in.
If you do this, you can have a better Quality Score, and you’re going to be a lot more successful with your Pay Per Click campaigns.
The first thing you need to decide before even starting the setup of your PPC campaigns is knowing what your monthly ad spend budget is going to be.
This is crucial to have a number upfront because then you’ll know where your priorities should be in terms of keyword research.
For roofing contractors, even in smaller cities, we recommend having a MINIMUM ad spend budget of $1,000.00 per month.
Anything lower than that in the roofing industry will be very difficult to work with and just won’t be effective because your data will be limited.
In larger cities like Houston, Los Angeles, etc. $1000 won’t cut it though.
When cost per click can rise above $30-40 each for some keywords, $1,000 is not a lot and can disappear in less than 30-35 clicks.
It’s all about ROI in the end. If you spend $1,000 and get one roof replacement job out of it that nets you $4,000 in profit, was spending that $1,000 worth it? I’d say yes every time, you just quadrupled your investment.
Here are some average figures to go on:
It is crucial to know your sales numbers for Google Ads to get an idea of what could work for you.
Let’s say for every 10 leads you get, you close 3 of them as jobs on average. A 30% closing percentage.
Let’s say you have a $2,000 monthly ad budget. Your average cost per click is $20.
$2,000 / $20 = 100 clicks
So you’ll get 100 clicks for your $2,000 budget.
Then calculate the conversion to lead percentage, which is usually around 20% for us.
0.20 * 100 = 20 leads.
So on average, you’ll get 20 quality leads for $2,000, about $100/lead. Now say your close percentage is 30%. So you close 6-7 of those 20 leads into roofing jobs.
Let’s say on average you make $3,000 profit per job. $3,000 x 6 = $18,000.
Congratulations, you just spent $2,000 to earn $18,000. That’s a great return on investment.
We’re here to help make that a reality. Now these numbers are probably very conservative, at least from our perspective. But you can see how much opportunity there is, especially if you know your numbers ahead of time.
We help roofing contractors focus their marketing on their best customers and take action on their behalf to help them rank higher on Google, so when they’re actually looking for them, they show up.
Designed, Developed and Marketed by